About Schauplatz-Korea

At the end of 2020, the idea of sharing stories from

Korea with our friends was born. At the end of March 2021, Schauplatz Korea Magazine went online for the first time. With our texts we go behind the scenes, to the places that are commonplace for many, but very special for us.


We are artists, students, historians, philosophers, entrepreneurs, educators, photographers, mothers and

fathers and much more. Our credo: Be curious about

places we visit, open to people we meet, and excited

about what we see…off the beaten path, between the

poles of Confucianism and modernity. We report

unvarnished and genuine.

 


Daniel Thomas Faller
SEOUL | Korea
Daniel is the founder of Schauplatz Korea Magazine, editor-in-chief and creative director. He is a Swiss native and Korea lover based in Seoul. Daniel is interested in people’s stories and projects and passionate about visual art and photography. And he likes to be seduced by Makgeolli…
Marcel Gerber
ZUG | Switzerland
Marcel’s first trip to the Korean peninsula fascinated him so much that from then on, he was always drawn back to South Korea. He is Swiss and works in IT. He is an enthusiastic hiker and skier and has recently rediscovered his passion for gardening. Marcel is already looking forward to his next trip to the Far East with ICN as his ultimate destination.
Martin Toenz
BALZERS | Liechtenstein
Martin supports the team with his IT know-how and is always on the hunt for solutions to everyday problems. He is Swiss and lives in the sixth smallest country in the world. Martin always finds unexpected challenges exciting. With Martin, you always have a true friend: helpful, cheerful, and happy to help in any way. He lives by the motto: "always look on the bright side of life."

Bettina Neuman
ARLESHEIM | Switzerland
Bettina Neuman was born and raised in Switzerland. She worked in the HR business for many years before moving into career consulting and training. Today, she is active in the field of organizational and personal development, is a mother of three children and a passionate runner. She loves to travel and explore foreign cultures.
Claudia Benz
GENF | Switzerland
With a finance background, she knows how to handle numbers. She juggles between three languages daily and loves art, culture and hiking. Claudia has a large collection of Korean and Japanese anime. As a Korea lover, she also likes to watch a music video of BTS...
Inez Lee
YONGIN | Korea
Inez is a designer who likes to experience and explore new things in everyday life. Daily memories can be very special and influence her not only as a person but also as a designer. She gets inspiration from commonplace activities, which often lead her to initial sketches for projects.
Yeowon Son
SEOUL | Korea
Yeowon is a German/Korean translator. Born in Seoul, she has had a great interest in new languages and cultures since she was a child. Driven by curiosity about a new world, she decided to study German. She loves books, coffee and LEGO.

Claudia Toenz
SEOUL | Korea
Claudia, an entrepreneur, passionate and intrepid traveler. Has worked as a consultant for many years. She avoids standstill, in change she finds the constant, in nature the tranquility, in art and culture the inspiration. South Korea, is her current home where she has made many friends and built her second startup.
Eddy Seung Kwan Kim
NAMYANGJU | Korea
Eddy is the Founder of IDA (International Discussion Association) where members discuss solutions to various international issues while maintaining respect to the cultures and values affected. He is a person who enjoys leaving his comfort zone and his passion for exploring different cultures has helped him become a more open-minded and creative person.
Hyeonji Ko
BUSAN | Korea
Hyeonji studies the Korean language and literature at Dong-A University. Her dream is to become a teacher and advocate of Korean culture. She is interested in everything about people: especially what people are saying and how they behave. Communicating with people, gaining insights into other people's minds and opinion is what drives her. To get closer to her dream, she writes articles based on these interests and introduces her beloved city Busan.
Jessica Hoag
JACKSONVILLE FL | USA
USA Jessica Hoag is a contributing editor and author. She recently lived in Seoul but has returned to the US, where she has resided in the Midwest, East, and South. She is an avid reader, learner, and explorer. Susan Sontag’s quote captures her passion for chasing adventures: I haven’t been everywhere, but it’s on my list.
Julia Mellor
SEOUL | Korea
Julia is the first non-Korean specialist in Korean traditional alcohol. Originally from Australia, Julia moved to Korea in 2007 and has dedicated the last 9 years of her life to educating and promoting ‘Sool’ around the world. She is the founder of ‘The Sool Company’, an organization providing Korean alcohol fermentation classes, tasting experiences and industry consulting.
Soo yeon Yu
SEOUL | Korea
Hello. I’m currently attending the Korea National University of Arts and majoring in Pungmul Janggu. I’m studying until now beacause I’m falling in love with the coolness and newness of Korean tradition. Traditional instruments also have a lot of charm at a time when Korean K-pop becaomes famous. I want to communicate this charm with more people through press activities. By personal introduction, I want to be interested in not only traditional art but also food and sports. I wants to communicate in many ways, not just in traditional art.
Suyeon Ko
SEOUL | Korea
Suyeon likes to hang out with friends and listen to their worries. Born and raised in Korea, she is a professional musician who plays a traditional musical instrument called Daegeum. She loves to travel abroad. Her first trip brought her to Germany and Switzerland. To date, Suyeon has beautiful memories of these two countries.
Urs Gerber
SCHÜPFEN | Switzerland
SCHÜPFEN | Switzerland Urs is the president of a foundation that operates the collection of the Swiss Armed Forces’ historical material. Since having served as head of the Swiss NNSC Delegation in Panmunjom he is very much interested in Korean politics, history and culture. He is looking forward to taste a hot-stone bibimpap in downtown Seoul after lifting of the covid-19 travel restrictions…
Yeim Choi
DADAEPO | Korea
Yeim is a Korean native based in Dadaepo, Busan. She has many interests: immersing in different cultures, studying languages (English, Indonesian and more to come), exploring the world, hearing people's stories, writing, drawing and playing the piano. Above all, she wants to make the world a better place.

error: Alert: Content is protected !!

Schauplatz-Korea stellt sich vor

Ende 2020 entstand die Idee, Geschichten aus Korea

mit unseren Freunden zu teilen. Ende März 2021 ist das

Schauplatz Korea Magazine zum ersten Mal online gegangen.

Mit unseren Texten gehen wir hinter die Kulissen, an die Orte, die für viele alltäglich, jedoch für uns sehr

besonders sind.


Wir sind Künstler, Studenten, Historiker, Philosophen, Unternehmer, Pädagogen, Fotografen, Mütter und Väter und vieles mehr. Unser Credo: Neugierig sein für Orte, die

wir besuchen, offen für Menschen, die wir treffen und begeistert für das, was wir sehen… abseits des

Mainstreams, zwischen den Polen des Konfuzianismus und

der Modernität. Wir berichten ungeschminkt und echt.

Daniel Thomas Faller
SEOUL | Korea
Daniel ist der Gründer des Schauplatz Korea Magazins, Chefredakteur und kreativer Leiter. Er ist gebürtiger Schweizer und Korea-Liebhaber, der in Seoul lebt. Daniel interessiert sich für die Geschichten und Projekte von Menschen und hat eine Leidenschaft für visuelle Kunst und Fotografie. Gerne lässt er sich von Makgeolli verführen...
Marcel Gerber
ZUG | Switzerland
Die erste Reise auf die koreanische Halbinsel faszinierte ihn so sehr, dass es ihn fortan immer wieder nach Südkorea zog. Marcel supportet Schauplatz-Korea mit seinem IT-Wissen. Wo nötig codiert er auch mal einige Zeilen. Als aktiver Mensch findet er in der Natur als begeisterter Wanderer, Biker oder Skifharer den Ausgleich zum Büroalltag. Er freut sich bereits jetzt auf die nächste Fernost-Reise mit Ziel ICN.
Martin Toenz
BALZERS | Liechtenstein
Martin unterstützt das Team mit seinem IT Knowhow und ist jeweils auf der Suche nach Lösungen für Alltagsprobleme. Er ist Schweizer und lebt im sechst kleinsten Staat der Welt. Martin findet immer wieder die nicht alltäglichen Herausforderungen spannend. Mit Martin kann man Pferde stehlen. Er lebt nach dem Motto: «always look on the bright side of life»

Bettina Neuman
ARLESHEIM | Switzerland
Geboren in aufgewachsen ist Bettina Neuman in der Schweiz. Sie war lange Jahre im HR Business tätig, bevor sie in die Karrierenberatung und in die Schulung wechselte. Heute ist sie im Bereich Organisations- und Persönlichkeitsentwicklung aktiv, ist Mutter von drei Kindern und passionierte Läuferin. Sie liebt es zu reisen und fremde Kulturen zu erkunden.
Claudia Benz
GENF | Switzerland
Mit einem Finanzhintergrund weiß sie, wie mit Zahlen umzugehen ist. Sie jongliert täglich zwischen drei Sprachen und liebt Kunst, Kultur und das Wandern. Claudia hat eine grosse Sammlung von koreanischen und japanischen Animes. Als Korea-Liebhaberin sieht sie sich auch gerne mal ein Musikvideo von BTS an…
Inez Lee
YONGIN | Korea
Inez ist eine Designerin, die gerne neue Dinge erlebt und ausprobiert. Ihre Inspirationen holt sie aus dem Alltag, einerseits als Designerin, aber auch als Mensch im Privatleben. Sie startet ihre Projekte mit einer Skizze, ohne zu wissen, was schlussendlich daraus wird.
Yeowon Son
SEOUL | Korea
Yeowon ist Übersetzerin (deutsch – koreanisch). In Seoul geboren, hatte sie schon als Kind ein großes Interesse an neuen Sprachen und Kulturen. Von der Neugier auf eine neue Welt getrieben, hatte sie sich entschieden, Deutsch zu studieren. Sie liebt Bücher, Kaffe und LEGO.

Claudia Toenz
SEOUL | Korea
Claudia weiss, wie der Hase reist: Jahrelang als Beraterin tätig, hat sie diverse globale Projekte in den unterschiedlichsten Ländern geleitet. Stillstand meidet sie, im Wandel findet sie die Konstante, in der Natur die Ruhe, in Kunst und Kultur die Inspiration. In Südkorea ist ihr ans Herz gewachsen, Freundschaften und bereits das zweite startup lassen nie Langeweile aufkommen.
Eddy Seung Kwan Kim
NAMYANGJU | Korea
Eddy ist Gründer von IDA (International Discussion Association), welche über internationale Themen diskutiert. Er verlässt gerne seine Komfort Zone um sich weiterzuentwickeln. Eddy interessiert sich für neue Kulturen.
Hyeonji Ko
BUSAN | Korea
Hyeonji studies the Korean language and literature at Dong-A University. Her dream is to become a teacher and advocate of Korean culture. She is interested in everything about people: especially what people are saying and how they behave. Communicating with people, gaining insights into other people's minds and opinion is what drives her. To get closer to her dream, she writes articles based on these interests and introduces her beloved city Busan.
Jessica Hoag
JACKSONVILLE FL | USA
USA Jessica ist Redakteurin und Autorin und hat bis vor kurzem noch in Seoul gelebt. Heute ist die gebürtige Amerikanerin wieder zurück in den USA. Jessica ist eine begeisterte Leser- und Entdeckerin. Das Zitat von Susan Sontag fängt ihre Leidenschaft für die Jagd nach Abenteuern ein: „Ich war noch nicht überall, aber es steht auf meiner Liste“.
Julia Mellor
SEOUL | Korea
Julia ist die erste nicht-koreanische Spezialistin für traditionellen koreanischen Alkohol. Ursprünglich aus Australien stammend, zog Julia 2007 nach Korea und hat die letzten neun Jahre ihres Lebens der Aufklärung und Förderung von "Sool" auf der ganzen Welt gewidmet. Sie ist die Gründerin von "The Sool Company", einer Organisation, die koreanische Alkohol-Fermentationskurse, Verkostungserlebnisse und Industrieberatung anbietet.
Soo yeon Yu
SEOUL | Korea
Soo yeon studiert an der Korea National University of Arts in Seoul. Ihr Hauptfach ist Pungmul Janggu. Sie liebt die koreanische, traditionelle Musik. Soo yeon ist überzeugt, dass trotz koreanischer K-Pop Welle die traditionelle Musik und deren Instrumente ihren festen Platz und Charme haben. Ihr Wunsch ist es, diese Traditionen den Lesern näher bringen.
Suyeon Ko
SEOUL | Korea
Geboren und aufgewachsen in Korea, ist Suyeon eine professionelle Musikerin, die das traditionelle Musikinstrument namens Daegeum spielt. Sie trifft sich gerne mit Freunden und liebt das Reisen in ferne Länder. Ihre erste Reise führte sie nach Deutschland und in die Schweiz. Noch heute schwelgt Suyeon schönen Erinnerungen an die beiden Länder.
Urs Gerber
SCHÜPFEN | Switzerland
SCHÜPFEN | Switzerland Urs ist Präsident einer Stiftung, die die Sammlung des historischen Materials der Schweizer Armee bewirtschaftet. Seit er als Leiter der Schweizer NNSC-Delegation in Panmunjom tätig war, interessiert er sich sehr für die koreanische Politik, Geschichte und Kultur. Er freut sich darauf, nach Aufhebung der Covid-19-Reisebeschränkungen in der Innenstadt von Seoul einen Bibimpap mit heißem Stein zu probieren...
Yeim Choi
DADAEPO | Korea
Yeim ist gebürtige Koreanerin und lebt in Dadaepo, Busan. Sie hat viele Interessen: In unterschiedliche Kulturen einzutauchen, Sprachen zu lernen (Englisch und Indonesisch), die Welt zu erkunden, die Geschichten der Menschen zu hören, zu schreiben, zu zeichnen und Klavier zu spielen. Vor allem aber möchte sie die Welt zu einem besseren Ort machen.

error: Alert: Content is protected !!